The hip thing these days to get your creativity flowing is mystery and chaos. Maybe you’ve played that game that floated around Facebook for a while where you pick out random quotes from a quotes site and turn it in to an album cover. Well, random is old hat (especially when you consider that most forms of “randomness” is nothing but a pre-calculated perlin function and thus not random at all)

True mystery means the system literally has no way of knowing what information it’s going to deal you. Wondering what I mean? Check out Mystery Seeker a.k.a. Mystery Google: a search bar that takes you to the results for the search term that the last person typed in. This has lead me to so many weird ideas in the past five minutes, you don’t even know.

Second, is chaos. Case in point: Alchemy, which has replaced all of my paper sketch pads and much of my photoshop doodling as well, and even an amount of time with one of those japanese painting programs I paid real money for… Alchemy is weird. You’ll only make trashy artwork in it, and that’s the point. The idea is you’re supposed to just hope you find something. It’s been described as “fishing with a net” and then picking out the ideas you liked the best. Ironically, when you’re doing graphic design work, that’s exactly what clients ask for. At least for me, I had a sort of “why weren’t we doing this before?” moment. #1 chaotic feature: the filter that downloads a ‘random’ flickr image and makes your lines snap to its edges while hiding the image from you completely.

There were other things I was thinking fit in to this category, but for the time being I’ve forgotten. To be continued…

And have a good semester, everybody.

